Cloud Nothings Announce New Album Final Summer, Share Video for New Song: Watch

Cloud Nothings are back with a new album. Final Summer, the Cleveland rock band’s eighth full-length LP and follow-up to 2021’s The Shadow I Remember, arrives April 19 on Pure Noise – marking a departure from longtime label home Carpark. Get a taste of what’s to come with “Running Through the Campus,” a new song that comes with an Errick Easterday-directed music video, below.

True to its title, the single takes its inspiration from bandleader Dylan Baldi’s daily runs through a nearby college campus. “Occasionally it’s after dark when I end up there, and the emptiness of it at night stands in stark contrast to the hectic and crowded early mornings,” he explains. “‘Running through the Campus’ is about an intrusive thought I can have on those late-night runs, about whether or not it’s slightly depressing that I’m out running around alone while everyone else is gone and actually doing something, probably with other people.”

Back in the fall, Cloud Nothings shared Final Summer’s title track. Both that song and “Running Through the Campus,” like the rest of the album, were recorded with Jeff Zeigler, mixed by Illuminati Hotties’ Sarah Tudzin, and mastered by Jack Callahan.

Read about Cloud Nothings’ single “I’m Not Part of Me” at No. 195 on “The 200 Best Songs of the 2010s.”

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Cloud Nothings: Final Summer

Final Summer:

01 Final Summer
02 Daggers of Light
03 I’d Get Along
04 Mouse Policy
05 Silence
06 Running Through the Campus
07 The Golden Halo
08 Thank Me for Playing
09 On the Chain
10 Common Mistake

Related Posts