Pet Shop Boys Announce New Album Nonetheless, Share “Loneliness” Video: Watch

Pet Shop Boys have announced a new album, Nonetheless, with a song called “Loneliness.” The follow-up to 2020’s Hotspot arrives April 26, marking the duo’s return to the label home of its imperial era, Parlaphone. It is also the band’s first collaboration with producer James Ford. Find the “Loneliness” video below.

“We wanted this album to be a celebration of the unique and diverse emotions that make us human,” Pet Shop Boys’ Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe said in a press statement. “From the more dance-orientated tracks to the raw poignancy of the introspective ballads, with their beautiful string arrangements, each track tells a story and contributes to the overall narrative of the album.”

Tennant and Lowe continued, “It was great to work with James Ford, who we think has brought new elements to our music. James has dared to make us a bit more minimal at times and the final result is a record we’re very proud of.”

Following the release of Nonetheless, Pet Shop Boys will deliver five performances at London’s Royal Opera House. The shows take place from July 23-27.

Read Pitchfork’s review of Pet Shop Boys’ recent compilation Smash – The Singles 1985 – 2020.

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Pet Shop Boys: Nonetheless


01 Loneliness
02 Feel
03 Why Am I Dancing?
04 New London Boy
05 Dancing Star
06 A New Bohemia
07 The Schlager Hit Parade
08 The Secret of Happiness
09 Bullet for Narcissus
10 Love Is the Law

Related Posts