Rock Hall 2024: Oasis, Sinéad O’Connor, Sade, Mariah Carey, and More Nominated for Induction

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation has announced the 2024 nominees for induction into the Rock Hall. Leading the class of 2024 nominees are first-timers Oasis, Sinéad O’Connor, Sade, Mariah Carey, and Ozzy Osbourne. Repeat nominees include A Tribe Called Quest, Eric B. & Rakim, and Mary J. Blige. See the full list of nominees below.

Musicians become eligible for induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 25 years after the release of their first commercial recording. So, while there are 10 first-time nominees—Mariah Carey, Cher, Foreigner, Peter Frampton, Kool & the Gang, Lenny Kravitz, Oasis, Sinéad O’Connor, Ozzy Osbourne, and Sade—each act has been eligible for induction in past years.

There are only five nominated acts who have been nominated in the past: A Tribe Called Quest (2022, 2023), Mary J. Blige (2021), Dave Matthews Band (2020), Jane’s Addiction (2017), and Eric B. & Rakim (2012). Ozzy Osbourne is also in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, but as a member of Black Sabbath—not as a solo act.

Kate Bush, Missy Elliott, Sheryl Crow, Rage Against the Machine, Willie Nelson, George Michael, and the Spinners were inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame with the class of 2023.

The nominees from last year’s ballot who are not repeating in 2023 are: Cyndi Lauper, Iron Maiden, Joy Division/New Order, Soundgarden, Warren Zevon, and the White Stripes.

John Sykes, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation’s chairman, said in a press statement, “This remarkable list of nominees reflects the diverse artists and music that the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame honors and celebrates. Continuing in the true spirit of Rock & Roll, these artists have created their own sounds that have impacted generations and influenced countless others that have followed in their footsteps.”

Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2024 Nominees

A Tribe Called Quest
Dave Matthews Band
Eric B. & Rakim
Jane’s Addiction
Kool & the Gang
Lenny Kravitz
Mariah Carey
Mary J. Blige
Ozzy Osbourne
Peter Frampton
Sinéad O’Connor

Sinéad O’Connor, March 1998

Sinéad O’Connor Was a Voice of Strength in the Darkness

Related Posts