Seminal Jimmy Buffett Albums To Be Reissued On Vinyl

UMe is celebrating the unforgettable work of Jimmy Buffett with newly remastered vinyl reissues of some of the most classic records from his illustrious career.

Several titles will be released every month this summer for a total of 10 albums that stretch over three decades. This treasure trove of music includes three of his beloved albums released in the 1990s making their debut on vinyl for the first time and many of his 70s and 80s records returning to vinyl for the first time in more than four decades. Each release will be available on standard black vinyl and limited edition colored vinyl.

The first batch launches on June 7 with a trio of his foundation-establishing albums: Living and Dying in 3/4 Time (1973), One Particular Harbour (1983), and Fruitcakes (1994). Buffett’s fourth album, Living and Dying in 3/4 Time marked Buffett’s debut in the charts, giving him his first Top 40 hit single, “Come Monday,” breaking into Billboard’s Hot 100.

At the same time, its leadoff track, “Pencil Thin Mustache” is a legendary tune among Parrotheads. One Particular Harbour features some of his best-loved audience favorites, including “Stars on the Water” and the crowd-pleasing title track, among the songs he played the most at his concerts. This year represents the 30th anniversary of the platinum-certified Fruitcakes, the first Buffett album ever to break the Top Five in Billboard’s Top 200.

Arriving July 12 is the second trio of vinyl releases – A White Sport Coat and a Pink Crustacean (1973), Havana Daydreamin’ (1976), and Banana Wind (1996). Featuring the hit singles “Grapefruit – Juicy Fruit” and “Why Don’t We Get Drunk,” A White Sport Coat and a Pink Crustacean helped introduce Buffett to a national audience.

Havana Daydreamin’ became a real breakout album for him, reaching No.65 on Billboard Top 200 and No.21 on Billboard’s Top Country Albums. Showcasing Buffett in his mid-90s prime, Banana Wind debuted at No.4 on the Top 200 and contains “Jamaica Mistaica,” a tune inspired by a real-life incident where Jamaican authorities mistakenly shot at his seaplane with Bono, his family, and Chris Blackwell on board.

Celebrating Buffett’s hits, the four August 16 releases are Changes in Latitudes, Changes in Altitudes (1977), Son of a Son of a Sailor (1978), Volcano (1979), and Barometer Soup (1995). The transformative, platinum-certified Changes in Latitudes, Changes in Altitudes is his best-selling album with his signature smash “Margaritaville,” an anthem at the core of Buffett’s Caribbean and trop-rock ethos.

Son of a Son of a Sailor, also certified platinum, boasts the timeless title track and the beloved classic “Cheeseburger in Paradise.” Peaking at No.14 on Billboard Top 200 (and No.13 on Billboard Top Country Albums), the gold-certified Volcano holds the hit singles “Fins,” “Volcano,” and “Survive.” The hit single “Mexico” highlights Barometer Soup, which scored Buffett yet another platinum album and reached No.6 on the Top 200.

Living and Dying in 3/4 Time, One Particular Harbour, and Fruitcakes are available for pre-order.

Related Posts