Bill Callahan Announces New Resuscitate! Live Album

Bill Callahan has announced a new live album that he recorded while touring in support of YTILAER. The new album, Resuscitate!, captures a show at Chicago’s Thalia Hall from Monday, March 6, 2023. Callahan played the concert with guitarist Matt Kinsey, alto saxophonist Dustin Laurenzi, and drummer Jim White. In addition, there were guest appearances from pianist Nathaniel Ballinger, vocalist Pascal Kerong’A, alto saxophonist Nick Mazzarella, guembri player Joshua Abrams, and harmonium player Lisa Alvarado.

Resuscitate! is out July 26 via Drag City. In a press statement about the album, Callahan said:

This is a live album that was taken from the tour for YTILAER. Songs tend to mutate after they’ve been recorded. These songs were mutating faster than usual. Like whatever happened to Bruce Banner in the lab—I knew these songs were about to get superpowers. As far as I was concerned, this change needed to be documented. The best thing about documenting something is that it gives the creator permission to move on should they wish to move on. I usually prefer to move on.

These songs were recorded in Chicago, America’s heart. And at one of the best clubs in the country—I try to only work with venues that are not entangled with Live Nation/Ticketmaster. Thalia Hall, baby. Stay free.

Revisit Sam Sodomsky’s 2019 profile of Bill Callahan, “Bill Callahan the Family Man.”

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Bill Callahan: Resuscitate!


01 First Bird
02 Coyotes
03 Keep Some Steady Friends Around
04 Partition 05 Drover
06 Pigeons
07 Everyway
08 Naked Souls
09 Natural Information
10 Planets

Bill Callahan Resuscitate

Related Posts